C c n a introduction

Introduction to CCNA

CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) is a category of technical certificationsoffered by Cisco for early-career networking professionals. The CCNA is the second level of accreditation, one step above Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) and directly below the CCNP (Cisco Certified Network Professional). Cisco offers five Cisco Career Certification programs and levels of accreditation: Entry, Associate, Professional, Expert and Architect.

What is CCNA?

CCNA is a popular certification course among computer network engineers. It is estimated that more than 1 million CCNA certificates have been awarded since it was first launched in 1998. The CCNA certificate covers a broad range of networking concepts. It helps candidates to prepare for the latest network technologies they are likely to work on.

This certification helps you to become familiar with a wide range of topics, including:

• OSI and TCP/IP model
• Ethernet
• Switches
• Routers
• Network utilities (ping, tracert, arp)
• IP addressing
• Subnetting
• Routing protocols (RIP, EIGRP, OSPF)
• ACLs

Cisco Certified Network Associate often known as CCNA. It is an IT network certification course offered by Cisco. It is a certification program valid for all type of engineers. It includes entry-level network engineers, Network Administrators, Network Support Engineers and Network Specialists.

Description: Introduction to CCNA

Some of the common topics covered under CCNA certification include:

  • OSI models
  • IP addressing
  • WLAN and VLAN
  • Network security and management (ACL included)
  • Routers / routing protocols ( EIGRP, OSPF, and RIP)
  • IP Routing
  • Network Device Security
  • Troubleshooting

Note that Cisco certification is valid only for 3 years. Once the certification expires the certificate holder has to take CCNA certification exam again.

Why to acquire a CCNA certification

  • The certificate validates a professional’s ability to understand, operate, configure and troubleshoot medium-level switched and routed networks. It also includes the verification and implementation of connections via remote sites using WAN.
  • It teaches the candidate how to create point-to-point network
  • It teaches about how to meet users requirement by determining the network topology
  • It imparts on how to route protocols in order to connect networks
  • It explains about how to construct network addresses
  • It explains on how to establish a connection with remote networks.
  • The certificate holder can install, configure and operate LAN and WAN services for small networks
  • CCNA certificate is a pre-requisite for many other Cisco certification like CCNA Security, CCNA Wireless, CCNA Voice, etc.

Types of CCNA certification

To  secure CCNA. There are basically two approaches as shown below.

  1. ICND1 Exam and ICND2
  2. Combined CCNA Exam

As  we discussed earlier the validity for any CCNA certificate last for three years.

Exam Code

Designed for

Duration and number of questions in exam

Exam Fees

100-101 ICND1

Entry-level Network Technician

  • 90 mins exam duration
  • 50-60 questions

$150 ( for different country price may vary)

200-101 ICND2

Experienced Network Technician

  • 75 mins exam duration
  • 50-60 questions

$150 ( for different country price may vary)

200-120 CCNA

Experienced Network Technician

  • 90 mins exam duration
  • 50-60 questions

$295 ( for different country price may vary)

Beside this certification, new certification course enrolled by CCNA include-

Description: Introduction to CCNA

  • CCNA Cloud
  • CCNA Collaboration
  • CCNA Switching and Routing
  • CCNA Security
  • CCNA service provider
  • CCNA DataCenter
  • CCNA Industrial
  • CCNA Voice
  • CCNA Wireless

For more detail on these exams, visit the link here.The candidate to a CCNA certification can also prepare for the exam with the help of the CCNA boot camp.To complete CCNA exam successfully. These are the topics one must be thorough of TCP/IP and the OSI model, subnetting, IPv6, NAT (Network Address Translation) and wireless access.

What does the CCNA course consist of

  • The ICND1 encompasses of topics like IP routing technologies, IP services (NAT, ACLS, DHCP), network device security, IPv6, LAN switching technologies, etc.
  • The ICND2 encompasses of topics like IP routing technologies, IP services (FHRP, syslog, SNMP v2 and v3), LAN switching technologies and WAN technologies.
  • The CCNA combined exam covers all the topics in ICND1 and ICND2. It covers topics on installation, operation and trouble shoot.

New changes in the current CCNA exam includes,

  • Deep understanding of IPv6
  • CCNP level subjects as HSRP, DTP, EtherChannel
  • Advanced troubleshooting techniques
  • Network design with supernetting and subnetting

Eligibility Criteria for Certification

  • For certification, no degree is required. However, preferred by some employers.

If you enjoyed this post don’t forget to like, follow, share

Enjoyed this post? Then follow me on social media:,

linked in